Maps and charts

Nuclear proliferation and disarmament, 2018

Source: compilation based on United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs (UNODA),, Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, 69 (5), September-October 2013.


The NPT came into force in 1970, creating a global geography that differentiated between states possessing a nuclear weapon (at the time, China, the United States, France, the United Kingdom, and the USSR) and those that had none. The treaty did not prevent other states from acquiring this weapon of mass destruction (North Korea, India, Israel, and Pakistan, all of them outside the NPT, as were Syria and South Sudan). In opposition to this proliferation, some states have signed treaties committing them to preserve vast nuclear-weapons-free zones (Latin America, Africa, Central Asia, South East Asia, Oceania, and Antarctica).


You are free to share the material in any medium or format under the following terms: give appropriate credit, do not use the material for commercial purposes and do not distribute remix or transform version of the material. For any other use, please contact us.
Detailed versiondownload
Simplified versiondownload
Very simplified versiondownload

Related article or related focus